Four New C.A.S. Hawker Scholarships Awarded

The former Speaker of the House of Representatives, the Hon. David Hawker AO, Head of St Mark’s College Professor Don Markwell and Principal of Burgmann College Ms. Sally Renouf will present Charles Hawker Scholarship certificates this week to the four new C.A.S. Hawker Scholars.

To minimize the potential spread of Covid-19, the presentations will be held at separate ceremonies at St Mark’s College in Adelaide today (9 May), at Burgmann College in Canberra on 11 May and at Marcus Oldham College in Geelong on 13 May.

The 2022 scholars are studying a wide range of courses including Advanced Computing, Politics, Philosophy, Economics, Business, Health Sciences and Agribusiness. The 2022 recipients are from North and South-East Queensland, Loxton in South Australia and Beetaloo Station in the Northern Territory.

Family and friends, college representatives, current scholars, members of the C.A.S. Hawker Alumni and C.A.S. Hawker Scholarship Trustees have been invited to attend the presentation ceremonies for the 2022 scholars.

Mr. William GILLETT is from South Australia’s Riverland. He studied at the Loxton High School and TAFE SA. William is studying a Bachelor of Business degree in Economics, Finance and Trade at the University of South Australia and is in residence at St Mark’s College.

Mr. Harrison OATES lives at Kewarra Beach in North Queensland. Harrison attended St Augustine’s College in Cairns and is studying Bachelor of Advanced Computing (R&D) (Hons) and PPE degrees at the ANU in Canberra and is residing at Burgmann College.

Ms. Angelina INTHAVONG is from Southport on the Gold Coast in SE Queensland. She graduated from A B Paterson College in 2021. Angelina is studying a Bachelor of Health Sciences at the ANU in Canberra and is in residence at Burgmann College.

Mr. Hugh DAWSON has spent the last six years working in a cattle camp on Beetaloo Station via Elliott in the Northern Territory. Originally from Adelaide, Hugh studied at St Peter’s College in Adelaide and Charles Darwin University. He is studying a Bachelor of Business (Agribusiness) at Marcus Oldham College in Geelong and is residing at the College.

Mrs. Lilias Needham established the Charles Hawker Scholarship in memory of her brother Charles Allan Seymour Hawker. These residential scholarships are valued at up to $60,000 over three years. It is one of the most generous privately funded scholarships available to undergraduate and postgraduate students in Australia.

Since 1990, the Trustees have awarded more than six million dollars to 136 young Australians, including a significant number from regional areas. The successful 2022 applicants were awarded scholarships from an Australia-wide field of 150 applicants.

Each year the C.A.S. Hawker Scholarship Trustees offer a number of scholarships to capable students of principle and character who are committed to Australia’s future. The scholarship perpetuates the memory and commemorates the achievements of one of Australia’s most respected pastoral pioneers and politicians.

“Charles Hawker was a most remarkable person. He had a lasting impact on Australian politics. Members of the federal house during his time as the Minister for Commerce in the Lyon’s Government in the 1930s had enormous respect for him. He was a great Australian who offered his best through his commitment to this country.

The values of loyalty, integrity and caring for community are some of the values I hope the 2022 scholarship recipients take with them into their studies,” former Speaker of the House of Representatives and Hawker family member, Hon David Hawker AO said.

Born on May 16th 1894 at Bungaree homestead near Clare in South Australia, Charles Hawker was educated at Geelong Church of England Grammar School and Trinity College, Cambridge. Student, soldier, pastoralist and statesman Charles Allan Seymour Hawker died in the Kyeema air disaster on October 25th, 1938.

“When faced with difficult decisions in the future, I hope the 2022 scholars will ask themselves, ‘what would Charles Hawker do?,” Hon David Hawker AO said.

Undergraduate and postgraduate Hawker Scholars can attend a range of educational institutions including the Australian National, Adelaide, Flinders, South Australia and New England Universities and Marcus Oldham College.

Postgraduate Charles Hawker Scholars are also able to follow in Charles Hawker’s footsteps by studying at the University of Cambridge UK.

“C.A.S. Hawker was a truly remarkable man and a great Australian. This scholarship is a fitting tribute to his memory and each of these scholars is a much-deserved recipient,” Hawker family member and Trustee Mr. Andrew Hawker said.

Selection is based on personal qualities as well as academic ability. Applications for the 2023 Charles Hawker Scholarships open on 5 December 2022 and close on 6 January 2023.

An application form and further information are available from the scholarship website or by contacting the secretary to the Trustees on 08 8127 1654.

More Information:

Cesare Silvestri     
Secretary to the Trustees
C.A.S. Hawker Scholarship
08 8127 1654  

Ian Doyle
B Ec. Dip Ed
Media Coordinator
C.A.S. Hawker Scholarship