Chief Scientist presents 2014 C.A.S Hawker Scholarships

Australia’s Chief Scientist Professor Ian Chubb AC presented four new Charles Hawker Scholars with their scholarship certificates this morning at a ceremony held at Burgmann College in Canberra. The first C.A.S. Hawker scholarship was presented in 1990.

The four new scholars are from Adelaide, Darwin, Canberra and Launceston. Thirty friends and family, college representatives, current scholars and Trustees of the C.A.S. Hawker Scholarship attended the function.

The four 2014 Charles Hawker Scholarship recipients are:

Mr. Kedar Abhyankar from Darwin was educated in Darwin, Geelong Grammar School and the ANU. Kedar is a second-year student enrolled at ANU and is in residence at Burgmann College. He is studying a Bachelor of Science (Advanced) Honours degree.

Ms. Alexandra Biggs from Vienna and Riyadh (Saudi Arabia) was educated at the British International School Riyadh, Canberra Girls Grammar School and ANU. Alexandra is a second-year student enrolled at ANU and is in residence at Burgmann College. She is studying a Bachelor of Philosophy Honours (Arts) degree.

Mr. Andrew Nilon from Perth (Tasmania) was educated at Scotch Oakburn College in Launceston. He is enrolled at ANU and is in residence at Burgmann College. Andrew is studying Bachelor of Law and Economics degrees.

Ms. Roberta Potamianos from Adelaide was educated at Pembroke School (SA). She is enrolled at the University of Adelaide and is in residence at St Mark’s College. Roberta is studying Bachelor of Medicine and Surgery degrees.

The late Lilias Needham in memory of her brother established the Charles Hawker Scholarship Trust. C.A.S. Hawker Scholarships, valued at up to $60,000.00 over four years, are one of the most generous privately funded scholarships available to Australian undergraduate and postgraduate students.

“I congratulate the four 2014 scholars. These scholarships have provided opportunities for an increasing number of young Australian students to undertake further studies to achieve their full potential. Each of these recipients has already displayed a strong commitment to the ideals upon which the Charles Hawker Scholarship Memorial Trust Fund is founded. They are gifted scholars with inquiring minds and have already significantly contributed to the wider community,” Professor Chubb AC said.

Since 1990, the Trustees have awarded five million dollars to one hundred and four young Australians, including a significant number from regional areas. The four successful candidates for 2014 were awarded Hawker Scholarships from a strong field of 130 applicants.

Former Speaker of the House of Representatives and Hawker family member, Hon. David Hawker AO spoke about the life of C.A.S. Hawker at the presentation at Burgmann College.

“The Charles Hawker Scholarship is one of the most important in Australia. I commend the Trustees for the contribution the scholarship has already made and will continue to make to the education of a number of outstanding young Australians,” Hon. David Hawker AO said.

There are a number of scholarships awarded each year. The Trustees offer them to capable students of principle and character, who are committed to Australia’s future.

“Charles Hawker had a lasting impact on Australian politics and all members of the federal house had an enormous respect for him during his time as Australia’s first Minister for Commerce in the Lyons government in the 1930s.

“He was a great Australian who offered his best through his commitment to his country, countrymen and women and democracy; these are values that I hope the scholars today take with them into their studies. Through his example and these scholarships it’s my hope that public service will be included in the career options of recipients,” Hon. David Hawker AO said.

The Charles Hawker Scholarship perpetuates the memory and commemorates the achievements of one of Australia’s most respected pastoral pioneers. Born on May 16th 1894 at Bungaree homestead near Clare in South Australia, Charles Hawker was educated at Geelong Church of England Grammar School and Trinity College, Cambridge. Student, soldier, pastoralist and statesman Charles Allan Seymour Hawker died in the Kyeema air disaster on October 25th, 1938.

Undergraduate and postgraduate Hawker Scholars are able to attend a range of educational institutions. These include the Australian National, Adelaide, Flinders, South Australian and New England Universities and Marcus Oldham College. Post-graduate Charles Hawker Scholars are also able to follow in Charles Hawker’s footsteps by enrolling at Trinity College and studying at Cambridge UK.

“C.A.S. Hawker was a truly remarkable man and a great Australian. This scholarship is a fitting tribute to his memory and each of these four scholars is a very worthy recipient,” Mr. Andrew Hawker, Scholarship Trustee and Hawker family member said.

Selection is based on personal qualities as well as academic ability. Applications for the 2015 Charles Hawker Scholarships open on December 8th 2014 and close on January 2nd 2015.  An application form and further information is available from or by contacting the secretary to the Trustees on 08 8127 1654.

More Information:

Cesare Silvestri
Secretary to the Trustees
C.A.S. Hawker Scholarship
08 8127 1654

Ian Doyle
Media Coordinator

CAS Hawker Scholarship
0417 819 189