2015 C.A.S Hawker Scholarships Announced

Former Speaker of the House of Representatives and Hawker family member Hon David Hawker AO presented five new Charles Hawker Scholars with their scholarship certificates this morning at a ceremony held at St Mark’s College in Adelaide.

Since 1990, the Trustees have awarded five million dollars to one hundred and nine young Australians, including a significant number from regional areas. The five successful candidates for 2015 were awarded Hawker Scholarships from a strong field of 170 applicants.

The five new scholars are studying Engineering, Laws, Commerce, Arts, International Relations and Economics. The 2015 scholars are from Newcastle, Launceston, Adelaide, Sale and Alice Springs. Forty friends and family, college representatives, current scholars and Trustees of the C.A.S. Hawker Scholarship attended the function.

The five 2015 Charles Hawker Scholarship recipients are:

Mr. Cameron Allan from Newcastle (NSW) was educated at Merewether High School. Cameron is enrolled at the ANU and is in residence at Burgmann College. He is studying Bachelor of Laws (Honours) and Bachelor of International Studies degrees.

Ms. Sophie Jones from Launceston (Tasmania) was educated at Scotch Oakburn College. She is the second Scotch Oakburn College student to be awarded a C.A.S. Hawker Scholarship. Sophie is in residence at Burgmann College and is enrolled at the ANU, studying a double degree of Laws and Arts.

Mr. Alexander Makarowsky from Adelaide (SA) was educated at Nazareth Catholic College. He is enrolled at the University of Adelaide and is in residence at St Mark’s College. Alexander is studying for a Bachelor of Engineering (Honours) Telecommunications degree.

Mr. Mark McAnulty from Sale (Victoria) was educated at Gippsland Grammar School and the ANU. He is 2nd year student at the ANU and is residing at Burgmann College. Mark is studying Bachelor of Engineering and Commerce degrees.

Ms. Nina Miers from Alice Springs (NT) was educated at St Philip’s College in Alice Springs. She is enrolled at the ANU and is in residence at Burgmann College. Nina is studying Bachelor of Economics and International Studies degrees.

The late Lilias Needham, in memory of her brother, established the Charles Hawker Scholarship Trust. The C.A.S. Hawker Scholarship, valued at up to $60,000.00 over four years, is one of the most generous privately funded scholarships available to Australian undergraduate and postgraduate students.

“I congratulate the five 2015 scholars. Each of these recipients has already displayed a strong commitment to the ideals upon which the Charles Hawker Scholarship Memorial Trust Fund is founded. They are gifted scholars with inquiring minds and have already significantly contributed to the wider community.

“The Charles Hawker Scholarship is one of the most important in Australia. I commend the Trustees for the contribution the scholarship has already made and will continue to make to the education of a number of outstanding young Australians,” Hon. David Hawker AO said.

There are a number of scholarships awarded each year. The Trustees offer them to capable students of principle and character, who are committed to Australia’s future.

“Charles Hawker had a lasting impact on Australian politics and all members of the federal house had an enormous respect for him during his time as Australia’s first Minister for Commerce in the Lyons government in the 1930s.

“He was a great Australian who offered his best through his commitment to his country, countrymen and women and democracy; these are values that I hope the scholars today take with them into their studies. Through his example and these scholarships it’s my hope that public service will be included in the career options of recipients,” Hon. David Hawker AO said.

The Charles Hawker Scholarship perpetuates the memory and commemorates the achievements of one of Australia’s most respected pastoral pioneers. Born on May 16th 1894 at Bungaree homestead near Clare in South Australia, Charles Hawker was educated at Geelong Church of England Grammar School and Trinity College, Cambridge. Student, soldier, pastoralist and statesman Charles Allan Seymour Hawker died in the Kyeema air disaster on October 25th, 1938.

Undergraduate and postgraduate Hawker Scholars are able to attend a range of educational institutions. These include the Australian National, Adelaide, Flinders, South Australian and New England Universities and Marcus Oldham College. Post-graduate Charles Hawker Scholars are also able to follow in Charles Hawker’s footsteps by enrolling at Trinity College and studying at Cambridge UK.

“C.A.S. Hawker was a truly remarkable man and a great Australian. This scholarship is a fitting tribute to his memory and each of these five scholars is a very deserved recipient,” Mr. Andrew Hawker, Scholarship Trustee and Hawker family member said.

Selection is based on personal qualities as well as academic ability. Applications for the 2016 Charles Hawker Scholarships open on December 7th 2015 and close on January 8th 2016. An application form and further information is available from www.hawkerscholarship.org or by contacting the secretary to the Trustees on 08 8127 1654.

More Information:

Cesare Silvestri    
Secretary to the Trustees
C.A.S. Hawker Scholarship
08 8127 1654

Ian Doyle
Media Coordinator
C.A.S. Hawker Scholarship
0417 819 189