SA Premier presents 100th C.A.S Hawker Scholarship

The Premier of South Australia, the Hon Jay Weatherill MP, presented four new Charles Hawker Scholars with their scholarship certificates this morning at a ceremony held at St Mark’s College in Adelaide. The first C.A.S. Hawker scholarship was presented in 1990. The 100th Hawker Scholar was Nicholas Banks from Adelaide.

The four new scholars are from Adelaide and regional South Australia and Queensland. Forty-five friends and family, school and college representatives, current scholars and the Trustees of the C.A.S. Hawker Scholarship attended the function.

The 2013 Charles Hawker Scholarship recipients are

1. Miss Alice Dawkins from Adelaide was educated at Loreto College (SA) Peking University
(China) and ANU (Canberra). Alice is a second year student enrolled at the ANU and is in residence at Burgmann College. She is studying for a Bachelor of Laws and a Bachelor of Asia Pacific Studies.

2. Miss Georgina Morphett from Kadina (regional SA) was educated at Kadina Memorial
High School (SA). She is enrolled at the University of Adelaide and is in residence at St Mark’s
College. Georgina is studying for a Bachelor of Law and a Bachelor of Arts.

3. Mr. Tristian Delroy from Bellmere (north of Brisbane) was educated at Narangba
State High School (QLD) and Queensland Academy for Science, Maths and Technology (QLD).
He is enrolled at the Australian National University and is in residence at Burgmann College.
Tristian is studying for a Bachelor of Arts and a Bachelor of Laws.

4. Mr. Nicholas Banks from Adelaide (SA) was educated at Concordia College (SA). He is enrolled at the University of Adelaide and is in residence at St Mark’s College. Nicholas is studying for a Bachelor of Laws and a Bachelor of International Studies.

The Charles Hawker Scholarship Trust was established by the late Lilias Needham in memory of her brother. C.A.S. Hawker Scholarships, valued at up to $45,000.00 over three years, are one of the most generous privately funded scholarships available to Australian undergraduate and postgraduate students.

“I congratulate the 2013 Scholars. These scholarships have provided opportunities for an increasing number of young Australian students to undertake further studies to achieve their full potential. Each of these recipients has already displayed a strong commitment to the ideals upon which the Charles Hawker Scholarship Memorial Trust Fund is founded. They are gifted scholars with inquiring minds and have already significantly contributed to the wider community,” Premier Weatherill said.

Since 1990, the Trustees have awarded four and a half million dollars to one hundred young Australians, including a significant number from regional areas. The four successful candidates for 2013 were awarded Hawker Scholarships from a strong field of 120 applicants.

Former Speaker of the House of Representatives and Hawker family member, Hon. David Hawker spoke about the life of C.A.S. Hawker at lunch at St Mark’s College following the scholarship presentation by Premier Weatherill.

“The Charles Hawker Scholarship is one of the most important in Australia. I commend the Trustees for the contribution the scholarship has already made and will continue to make to the education of a number of outstanding young Australians,” Hon. David Hawker said.

There are a number of scholarships awarded each year. The Trustees offer them to capable students of principle and character, who are committed to Australia’s future.

“Charles Hawker had a lasting impact on Australian politics and all members of the federal house had an enormous respect for him during his time as Australia’s first Minister for Commerce in the Lyons government in the 1930s.

“He was a great Australian who offered his best through his commitment to his country, countrymen and women and democracy; these are values that I hope the scholars today take with them into their studies. Through his example and these scholarships it’s my hope that public service will be included in the career options of recipients,” Hon. David Hawker said.

The Charles Hawker Scholarship perpetuates the memory and commemorates the achievements of one of Australia’s most respected pastoral pioneers. Born on May 16th 1894 at Bungaree homestead near Clare in South Australia, Charles Hawker was educated at Geelong Church of England Grammar School and Trinity College, Cambridge. Student, soldier, pastoralist and statesman Charles Allan Seymour Hawker died in the Kyeema air disaster on October 25th, 1938.

Undergraduate and postgraduate Hawker Scholars are able to attend a range of educational institutions. These include the Australian National, Adelaide, Flinders, South Australian and New England Universities and Marcus Oldham College. Post-graduate Charles Hawker Scholars are also able to follow in Charles Hawker’s footsteps by enrolling at Trinity College and studying at Cambridge UK.

“C.A.S. Hawker was a truly remarkable man and a great Australian. This scholarship is a fitting tribute to his memory and each of these four scholars is a very worthy recipient,” Mr. Andrew Hawker, Scholarship Trustee and Hawker family member said.

Selection is based on personal qualities as well as academic ability. Applications for the 2014 Charles Hawker Scholarships open on December 9th 2013 and close on January 3rd 2014. An application form and further information is available from or by contacting the secretary to the Trustees on 08 8127 1654.

More Information:

Cesare Silvestri
Secretary to the Trustees
C.A.S. Hawker Scholarship
08 8127 1654

Ian Doyle
Media Coordinator
C.A.S. Hawker Scholarship
0417 819 189