COVID delayed Hawker Scholarship presentations in SA & ACT

The Governor of South Australia His Excellency the Honourable Hieu Van Le AC and the National Farmers’ Federation President Ms. Fiona Simson presented six Charles Hawker Scholars with their scholarship certificates at separate ceremonies held at Government House in Adelaide and Burgmann College in Canberra this week. Covid-19 delayed the 2020 presentation.

The six scholars are studying Philosophy, Science, Arts, Law, Medicine, Surgery, Politics and Economics. The three 2020 scholars and three 2021 Scholars have studied in the Sutherland Shire NSW, Belair SA, Perth WA and Burwood VIC. Family and friends, college representatives, current scholars, members of the Alumni and Trustees of the C.A.S. Hawker Scholarship attended both functions.

The two Adelaide based 2020 & 2021 Charles Hawker Scholars were presented with their certificates on 10 May by His Excellency the Honourable Hieu Van Le AC at a function at Government House in Adelaide.

Both students are graduates of the same secondary institution, St John’s Grammar School at Belair in the Adelaide Hills. The two recipients were School Captains in subsequent years at St John’s Grammar and both scholars are now residing at St Mark’s College.

2020 scholar Mr. Oliver DOUGLAS is from Coromandel Valley SA. Oliver is studying Bachelor of Arts and Law degrees at the University of Adelaide.

2021 scholar Mr. Benjamin RANSOM is from Mitcham SA. He is studying Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery degrees at the University of Adelaide.

“I congratulate all the Charles Hawker scholarship winners. Through their studies and community involvement, they have already demonstrated a strong commitment to following in the footsteps of C.A.S. Hawker,” His Excellency the Honourable Hieu Van Le AC said.

The four Canberra based 2020 & 2021 Charles Hawker Scholarship recipients are in residence at Burgmann College and were presented with their framed certificates by Ms. Fiona Simson at the College on 12 May.

2020 scholar Ms. Sai CAMPBELL was born in Thailand and grew up in Blackburn South VIC. She was educated at Presbyterian Ladies’ College Burwood VIC. Sai is enrolled in the Bachelor of Philosophy (Ph.B.) Science degree at the ANU.

2020 scholar Mr. Kristian JONGELING is from Kingsley WA. He was educated at Hale School in Perth WA. Kristian is enrolled in Bachelor of Laws (Hons) and Bachelor of Politics, Philosophy and Economics degrees at the ANU.

2021 scholar Miss Jae BRIEFFIES grew up in Perth WA. She was educated at Willetton Senior High School WA and has completed her first semester at the ANU in 2020. Jae is enrolled in the Bachelor of Law (Hons) and Bachelor of International Relations degrees at the ANU.

2021 scholar Mr. Benjamin NOLAN is from the Sutherland Shire NSW. He was educated at Kirrawee High School in Sydney NSW. Benjamin is enrolled in Bachelor of International Relations and Bachelor of Politics, Philosophy and Economics degrees at the ANU.

“They are a talented group of young scholars from across the country who will no doubt make major contributions to Australia in future years. I wish them well in their studies,” NFF President Ms. Fiona Simson said.

Mrs. Lilias Needham established the Charles Hawker Scholarship in memory of her brother Charles Allan Seymour Hawker. These residential scholarships are valued at up to $60,000 over three years. It is one of the most generous privately funded scholarships available to undergraduate and postgraduate students in Australia.

Since 1990, the Trustees have awarded more than six million dollars to 132 young Australians, including a significant number from regional areas. The three successful 2020 and the three 2021 applicants were awarded Hawker Scholarships from an Australia wide field of 223 applicants.

Each year the C.A.S. Hawker Scholarship Trustees offer a number of scholarships to capable students of principle and character who are committed to Australia’s future. The scholarship perpetuates the memory and commemorates the achievements of one of Australia’s most respected pastoral pioneers and politicians.

“Charles Hawker had a lasting impact on Australian politics and all members of the federal house had an enormous respect for him during his time as Australia’s first Minister for Commerce in the Lyons Government in the 1930s. He was a great Australian who offered his best through his commitment to his country and democracy. These are values I hope the 2020 and 2021 scholarship winners take with them into their studies,” Trustee and C.A.S. Hawker Scholar Mr. Dan Cregan MP said during the presentation at Government House.

Born on May 16th 1894 at Bungaree homestead near Clare in South Australia, Charles Hawker was educated at Geelong Church of England Grammar School and Trinity College, Cambridge. Student, soldier, pastoralist and statesman Charles Allan Seymour Hawker died in the Kyeema air disaster on October 25th, 1938.

Undergraduate and postgraduate Hawker Scholars are able to attend a range of educational institutions including the Australian National, Adelaide, Flinders, South Australia and New England Universities and Marcus Oldham College.

Postgraduate Charles Hawker Scholars are also able to follow in Charles Hawker’s footsteps by studying at the University of Cambridge UK.

“C.A.S. Hawker was a truly remarkable man and a great Australian. This scholarship is a fitting tribute to his memory and each of these scholars is a much-deserved recipient,”

Hawker family member and Trustee Mr. Andrew Hawker said at the delayed Burgmann College presentation.

Selection is based on personal qualities as well as academic ability.

Applications for the 2022 Charles Hawker Scholarships open on 6 December 2021 and close on 7 January 2022.

An application form and further information are available from the scholarship website or by contacting the secretary to the Trustees on 08 8127 1654.

More Information:

Cesare Silvestri     
Secretary to the Trustees
C.A.S. Hawker Scholarship
08 8127 1654  


Ian Doyle
Media Coordinator
C.A.S. Hawker Scholarship
0417 819 189