Dr. Nelson Presents 2018 C.A.S Hawker Scholarships

In the centenary year of the end of World War 1 and the eightieth anniversary of the death of Charles Hawker, Director of the Australian War Memorial Dr. Brendan Nelson AO presented four new Charles Hawker Scholars with their scholarship certificates at a ceremony held this morning at the War Memorial in Canberra.

The four new scholars are studying Law, Policy Studies, Engineering, Commerce, Politics, Philosophy, Economics and International Studies. The 2018 scholars have studied in Brisbane (Qld), Canberra (ACT), Sale (VIC) and Gawler (SA). Forty friends and family, college representatives, current scholars and Trustees of the C.A.S. Hawker Scholarship attended the function at the Australian War Memorial.

The four 2018 Charles Hawker Scholarship recipients are residing at Burgmann College and
are enrolled at the Australian National University (ANU).

Miss Nathalie JOHNSTONE was educated at Trinity College, Gawler (SA). Nathalie is enrolled in Bachelor of Law (Hons) and Policy Studies degree courses. Mr. Solomon JONES from Longford (VIC) was educated at Gippsland Grammar, Sale (VIC) and he is enrolled in Bachelor of Engineering (Hons) and Commerce degrees.

Miss Jennifer KERR from Canberra (ACT) was educated at Radford College (ACT) and is enrolled in the Bachelor of Politics, Philosophy & Economics and Bachelor of Arts degree courses.

Ms. Olivia TURNER from Burpengary (QLD) was educated at Clayfield College (QLD). Olivia is enrolled in Bachelor of Political Science, Philosophy & Economics and Bachelor of International Studies degrees.

Mrs. Lilias Needham established the Charles Hawker Scholarship in memory of her brother Charles Allan Seymour Hawker. Today each of these residential scholarships is valued at up to $60,000.00 over three years. It is one of the most generous privately funded scholarships available to undergraduate and postgraduate students in Australia.

Since 1990, the Trustees have awarded more than $6 million dollars to 122 young Australians, including a significant number from regional areas. The four successful candidates for 2018 were awarded Hawker Scholarships from a strong field of 180 applicants.

“These four young outstanding students have displayed a strong commitment to the splendid ideals upon which the Charles Hawker Scholarship Memorial Trust Fund was founded. They are gifted scholars who will make significant contributions to their chosen fields of endeavor,” Director of the Australian War Memorial Dr. Brendan Nelson AO said.

There are a number of Hawker Scholarships awarded each year. The Trustees offer them to capable students of principle and character, who are committed to Australia’s future. The Charles Hawker Scholarship perpetuates the memory and commemorates the achievements of one of Australia’s most respected pastoral pioneers. Born on May 16th 1894 at Bungaree homestead near Clare in South Australia, Charles Hawker was educated at Geelong Church of England Grammar School and Trinity College, Cambridge. Student, soldier, pastoralist and statesman Charles Allan Seymour Hawker died in the Kyeema air disaster on October 25th 1938.

Charles Hawker served in WW1. He enlisted in England in 1914 while studying at Cambridge and fought on the Western Front at Ypres and Loos. He was wounded on two occasions and lost an eye. On October 4th 1917, at Broodseinde during the 3rd battle of Ypres he was again severely injured by machine gun fire and was paralysed from the waist down. He was told he would never walk again. Through sheer determination he learnt to walk with the assistance of two sticks. His legs were in surgical irons to the end of his life.

Undergraduate and postgraduate Hawker Scholars are able to attend a range of educational institutions. These include the Australian National, Adelaide, Flinders, South Australia and New England Universities and Marcus Oldham College. Postgraduate Charles Hawker Scholars are also able to follow in Charles Hawker’s footsteps by studying at the University of Cambridge UK.

“Charles Hawker had a lasting impact on Australian politics and all members of the federal house had an enormous respect for him during his time as Australia’s first Minister for Commerce in the Lyons government in the 1930s.

“He was a great Australian who offered his best through his commitment to his country, countrymen and women and democracy. These are values I hope the 2018 scholarship winners take with them into their studies.

“C.A.S. Hawker was a truly remarkable man and a great Australian. This scholarship is a fitting tribute to his memory and each of these four scholars is a much deserved recipient,” family member and former Speaker of the House of Representatives Hon. David Hawker AO said.

Selection is based on personal qualities as well as academic ability. Applications for the 2018 Charles Hawker Scholarships open on December 3rd and close on January 4th 2019. An application form and further information is available from www.hawkerscholarship.org or by contacting the secretary to the Trustees on 08 8127 1654.

More Information: 

Cesare Silvestri
Secretary to the Trustees
C.A.S. Hawker Scholarship
08 8127 1654

Ian Doyle
Media Coordinator
C.A.S. Hawker Scholarship
0417 819 189